I’ve been reading my September-October issue of Oracle Magazine.

And this has been said before but I can’t help but say it again…

In the latest Oracle Magazine, Tom Kyte and Ari Kaplan’s columns both tout one of 11g’s new features – the “server results cache” or “query result cache” (as the authors referred to it, respectively) . They both describe it as a “great new feature”. Neither happens to mention that MySQL has had this since version 4.0. It rankles me. It looks like there are a lot of truly “great new features” in 11g; let’s give credit for this one where it’s due.

3 Responses to “I’ve been reading my September-October issue of Oracle Magazine.”

  1. Marc Says:

    I was thinking the same exact thing!

  2. KC Says:

    i’m reading the same article right now..page 92.

    …that triggered me to do a search for “oracle 11g query cache mysql”. that’s how i landed on your blog… 😉

    FWIW, i’ve subscribed to your feed… so keep blogging interesting stuff ok…

  3. Mike Says:

    If you’ve worked with a few RDBMS’s I’m sure you will see some “similarities” between them. MySQL’s binary logs look a lot like Sql Servers binary logs. MySql’s redo logs, though they’re not called redo logs, look and operate on the same principle as Oracle’s redo logs. But of course they couldn’t be exactly the same since there would probably be a patent infringement or something. So who is copying who? I think they all “borrow” off each other, but you will never see one of them admit it.

Leave a Reply

