it’s official…

I am now an employee of MySQL. I guess my transition from Oracle to MySQL is complete. :)

I am super-excited to have signed on as a support engineer for MySQL! As you can read in my earlier posts, I had great experiences with MySQL support, so I’m really glad (and honored) to join the team.

Now I need to decide what direction I want to take this blog in. Maybe start a new blog with a different focus – I haven’t decided yet. Meanwhile, I have a lot of learning to do and have to get up-to-speed on things so I can be sure to do the support team proud! It’s going to be a little different from being a DBA, that’s for sure…

Anyway, I have a lot of ideas for future blog entries, but it might take a little while… Stay tuned.

9 Responses to “it’s official…”

  1. oropeza Says:

    ;) Congrats!

  2. Marten Mickos Says:

    Ben,

    Welcome aboard!

    I would say that there never is a transition to MySQL that would be “complete”. The essence of the MySQL ecosystem is that it never is complete, and no player or participant in it is ever complete. That’s the key to the innovative disruption of MySQL.

    Or, in other words, it is the journey, not the destination.

    We are honoured to have you on board, and your skill and experience will come to good use. Please keep blogging actively! Don’t allow yourself to take a break from blogging. You have a devoted readership.

    Marten

  3. Nico Says:

    Hello !

    Congratulations. What are your experiences if you compare Oracle with MySQL ?

    Thanks !

  4. Mark Callaghan Says:

    Congratulations. Having spent time fixing problems in Oracle and MySQL, I much prefer fixing them in MySQL. I expect you will too.

  5. Sheeri Says:

    Congrats!

  6. gigiduru Says:

    Probably, all the MySQL prospective employees are tested for having the ability to censor all the bad commentaries and spread propaganda, which really fits the Marten’s profile.

    What’s the point of this blog if you’ll receive only the “positive” comments?! Just to make you feel good, given that you already have doubts about the move you made?!?!

    I remember the communist days….

    –gidiguru – I have been taking some time to think about whether to publish your earlier post. Not because it’s negative but because of the language used and the ad hominem in it. Civil comments are welcome, whether positive or negative, agreeing or disagreeing. I want to keep the language acceptable and won’t permit personal attacks on people. If your comment had been up to the standards of polite converstation, I would have published it and if I felt like it, replied to it.

    –BTW The problem with censorship (eg, in communist countries) is that you are not allowed to speak your
    mind, even on your own time or by your own means. It is not that other private citizens don’t choose to publish
    your every comment in their works. You are free to start your own blog, or to add comments that adhere
    to generally accepted conventions of civil discourse. I assert and retain the right to accept or block any further
    comments on my blog without further justification or argument. But I am not the government and I won’t tell you what to say on your own time or dime, nor threaten you with any punishment.

    –(For the curious, the earlier comment that I did not publish basically said that two earlier comments were “bs”,
    that Marten was largely “responsible” for what he saw as MySQL’s problems, and included an ad hominem against him. This post has one too, but I’ve published it this time so that I could state my position publicly.)

  7. dboyr Says:

    You are absolutly right Marten. The mysql changes as the wind blows, going from one mistake, usually to more.
    I don’t get it why someone could go from oracle to mysql. Oracle is a database, while mysql … is 1/10 oracle 8 was.
    It is not acceptable to lose data!!!!. in mysql myisam this is a day by day possibility.

    I can only wish you use the mysql for querys only.

    Good luck!
    you’ll need it.

    kind regards
    D.

    – D. – thanks for your comment. MySQL is used by many websites and companies, some of whom choose the speed of MyISAM, some of whom choose the ACID-compliant transactional functionality of InnoDB (mentioning only two of the free storage engines). My previous company could not afford to lose any data, and we never did, although we had millions of rows of analytic data and gigabytes of daily processing. We used InnoDB and of course used binary logging and had good backups, which we never had to use, except once when our own code deleted some data we wanted to recover.

    – Thanks again – Ben.

  8. Ophir Ramz Says:

    Haha, welcome to the light side of the force :D

  9. josvazg Says:

    Are you sure?…

    http://www.oracle.com/us/corporate/press/018363

    “Oracle Buys Sun (=MySQL+Java+Solaris+OpenOffice)”

    …so you are back in Oracle’s hands!
    and who knows?…maybe MySql will disappear altogether!

    Ways out? PostgreSQL and MariaDB (Monty’s MySQL fork)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

